From Plaza Alvear, Avenida Rivadavia leads to the beautiful Parque Urquiza and the riverside. Though nothing remains from the colonial period, the city retains many fine 19th- and 20th-century public buildings, centred around Plaza Primero de Mayo. On the east side is the impressive cathedral, built in 1883 in Italianate neoclassical style, with a fine dome and colonnaded portico, though the interior is plain. Also on the plaza are the Municipalidad (1890) with its distinctive tower, and the Club Social (1906), for years the elite social centre of the city. Take pedestrianized San Martín half a block west of the corner with 25 de Junio, to see the fine Teatro 3 de Febrero (1908). Two blocks north is the Plaza Alvear, and opposite one of its corners, the provincial tourist office (Laprida 5, T0343-422 2100, http://www.turismo.entrerios.gov.ar, Mon-Fri 0800-2000, Sat 0800-1400) . On the same block is the mildly engaging Museo Histórico Martiniano Leguizamón (Laprida y Buenos Aires, T0343-431 2735, Tue-Fri 0800-1200, 1530-1930, Sat 0900-1200, 1600-1900, Sun 0900-1200, US$0.50.).
Get the best info about sights, places to eat and sleep in Paraná free to download!download free pdf