What was once a seedy street down by the harbour now attracts people with lots of bars and restaurants.
King Christian V had the canal built from 1671-73, to connect the harbour with the city centre. Nyhavn has two sides: the sunny side, with the colourful houses, and the shaded, proper side where not much happens. The blue house Nyhavn No. 9 bearing the date 1681 was not, as is often claimed, the home of the poet H. C. Andersen. It probably belonged to the harbourmaster.